Judges’ Bios


"Inhaling Ozone." Illustration from High Frequency Electric Currents in Medicine and Dentistry, 1910.  Medical Heritage Library.
“Inhaling Ozone.” Illustration from High Frequency Electric Currents in Medicine and Dentistry, 1910.
Medical Heritage Library.




Mr. Shane Booth is a professor of art at Fayetteville State University, where he also is a photographer. He has appeared in several publications and works with Artists for Charity raising money for HIV positive children. Most of his time is spent raising awareness about HIV and AIDS through his artwork.

Mrs. Nena Callaghan received a B.S. in Elementary Education and a B.A. in English Literature with a minor in Spanish from Fayetteville State University. She successfully completed the Writing for Children and Teenagers Course, offered at the Institute of Children’s literature. Callaghan is passionate about writing. Her work has been published in Bursting Plethora and The Red Line Magazine. She has published a children’s book and has served on the editorial board for Glint Literary Journal.

Dr. Heather Griffiths received her M.A. and PhD in Sociology from the University of Delaware. She joined the sociology department at Fayetteville State University in the fall of 2006. Most recently, her co-authored (with Dr. Todd Frobish) paper, “Virtual Deviance: Swinging and Swapping in an Online Network,” was accepted for publication in Journal of Deviant Behavior. Currently, Dr. Griffiths is researching pedagogy and contributing weekly movie reviews to Up and Coming Weekly.

Socorro Hernandez-Hinek, Associate Professor of Art, teaches foundation courses in the Visual Arts area.  Her expertise is ceramics, drawing and sculpture.  She actively exhibits throughout the region. Her mixed media and installation work centers around Hispanic and Latino history and contemporary issues.

Dr. Eric Hyman is a Professor of English at Fayetteville States University. He specializes in British literature and linguistics and, for short fiction, Nabokov.

Dr. Ed McShane is an Associate Professor of English with an MFA from Iowa and a Ph.D. from Denver. He teaches American and Modern Literature.

Dr. Maria Orban is an Associate Professor Professor of English at Fayetteville State University. She teaches American literature, Native American fiction, literary criticism and theory, multicultural literature, and Shakespeare. Charles W. Chesnutt Reappraised, a collection of critical essays, which she co-edited with David G. Izzo, received the Sylvia Lyons Render award for outstanding scholarship in May 2011. Her work on Native American authors such as Louise Erdrich, Gerald Vizenor, and Sherman Alexie was published in the European Review of Native American Studies, American Indian Culture and Research Journal, and World Literature Today.

FSU Professor Carole Boston Weatherford is a New York Times best-selling children’s book author and prize-winning poet. Her 40 books include Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom, Becoming Billie Holiday, and Birmingham, 1963. Her books have won the Caldecott Honor, Coretta Scott King, and NAACP Image awards.